Day 28 – 12/03/10 – Of Mice…

I promise I’ll change subjects this weekend, but for now I’m still with the computer theme.  Here’s another little device without which the majority of my high tech gadgetry would be useless.

If nothing else, the shots from the last few days have taught me that I really, really want to try a dedicated macro lens.  These computer theme shots have all been taken with a 50mm f/1.8, which is a great little lens, or with my 70-300mm when I really wanted to get in close.  Unfortunately the 70-300mm has a ridiculously large minimum focus distance, which has resulted in me getting into some rather comical positions in order to get far enough from things like the punchdown block to get a shot.

I’ve had a wide angle lens at the top of my wish list for awhile now, but I may have to let Santa know that the macro lens has bumped it down a notch!

Computer mouse, unsung hero of the technical age

Computer mouse, unsung hero of the technical age

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 28 – 12/03/10 – Of Mice…

  1. John says:

    I have the Canon 100mm f/2.8 (non L) macro, which I dearly love, and highly recommend. Very useful for the Project 365, as well, when the creative juices are flagging.

  2. Jim Reed says:

    Thanks John. That’s actually the one I’m looking at as well. I’d originally considered the 60mm f/2.8, but I think the extra focal length on the 100mm suites my typical shooting style better.

  3. I thought about the 100mm non-L but decided my next will be the L lens. The glass will follow me from body to body, since it’s a long term investment, I thought it best to get the L. Plus, I hear the IS on the L is awesome! 🙂

    I have liked your computer theme the last few days, I am interested in what the next theme will be.

    Wide angle lens, ahhh, SO much fun! I went with a non-Canon wide angle, the Tokina 11-16mm and have to say I have been very pleased with it! Here’s a shot taken with it: Wooden

  4. Jim Reed says:

    I just checked on the L, and it’s not as much more expensive than the non-L as I’d thought. I may consider pushing that one on Santa 😉

    That Wooden is a great shot! That’s exactly the type of thing I’m looking for a wide angle to be able to play with. I’m considering the Canon 10-22, though the extra speed on that Tokina is enticing…

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

