Day 25 – 11/30/10 – Lemony Fresh

I had a devil of a time with today’s shot.  I’m back to the kitchen, and wanted to do some more work on food shots.  My subject for the day was a couple of lemons and lemon slices.  For some reason I was having one difficulty after another getting the image I wanted.

To be honest I’m still not entirely satisfied with this shot.  The composition is pretty much what I was after, but I’m not thrilled with the lighting.  I may revisit this at a later date when I have more time to experiment.

Sliced lemons

Sliced lemons

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 25 – 11/30/10 – Lemony Fresh

  1. mindymilburn says:

    Love the depth of field, just looking at these made my mouth water 🙂 Lemons just remind me of something clean and fresh. Great shot!

  2. lisahudson says:

    Lemons should be ripe on the trees here w/in the month. Time to make sangria! What was your light source?

    • Jim Reed says:

      I envy you! My grandparents used to live near Phoenix, I used to love getting lemons, oranges, grapefruit and kumquats off their trees! Lighting is actually the weak spot in my gear kit, so I have to get creative. This is a 100w flood bulb in an old workshop light, softened through a hand held diffuser. I’m hoping to add some studio lights to my kit over the holidays (that’s a hint if you’re reading this Mrs. Claus!)

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

