Day 12 – 11/17/10 – Blue Moon

The rain of the last few days held off today, and the seemingly gale force winds we had this morning died down, so I was able to get some outdoor shots this evening.  I began with some shots of the leaves which had been blown all over the yard (making pictures of them is far more fun than raking them!).

I’d planned on using a leaf shot, but wonderful darkening blue skies and an early moon rise presented an opportunity I couldn’t pass up.  I’ve been meaning to try some moon shots for awhile now anyway.  These were made with my 70-300mm, which is the longest lens I own, so I couldn’t reach out quite as far as I’d like.  I’m happy with the results, but some day I’ll rent or borrow a really long lens and get up close and personal with Luna.

Nearly full moon in a blue sky, seen through pine tree branches

Nearly full moon in a blue sky, seen through pine tree branches

This entry was posted in Daily Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 12 – 11/17/10 – Blue Moon

  1. Nice image, I love this time of day.

  2. Ness Flores says:

    Wow, that is so cool. Excellent composition.

  3. Great composition, I think the tree’s really enhance the photo.

Leave a Comment: What are you thinking?

